top of page
REVEL Building, Lafontaine

PRESENT

FARMER'S CO-OP

520 Cedar Point Road

Lafontaine Agricultural Cooperative

The idea of a mill, known as “la moulange”, had spread through the study circles that were introduced by father Thomas Marchildon. These groups started to meet in 1938. In 1941, father Marchildon took the lead and convened 25 interested parties. With forty members paying $25.00 per share, the mill project became feasible.

The mill opened its doors on September 22, 1941. The coop milled grain from local farmers. In a short time, the coop also became a hardware store serving both farmers and cottagers. The coop stood at the intersection of Concession 16 and Cedar Point Road until the spring of 1976.

Memories

Click CC on the video to display English subtitles.

Discover more historical locations in Lafontaine

bottom of page