top of page
Marchildon-Gignac.png

PRESENT

GIGNAC-MARCHILDON
GENERAL STORE

345 Lafontaine Road West

Marchildon’s then Gignac’s Store

Marchildon’s store opened in 1923. It was a more “general’’ store operated by Marie (Asselin) and Alfred Marchildon. It reigned over Lafontaine until 1950 when the couple decided to sell the business to their son Gabriel. The latter was the owner until 1956. The “general’’ nature of the store leaned toward hardware. Then, the family of Albertine and Marcel Pilon arrived from the 17th Concession. The store gained momentum to become an enhanced general store with pastries and ‘’herbs’’ from the woman who was to become “Mom’’ to many people.

Memories

Click CC on the video to display English subtitles.

Discover more historical locations in Lafontaine

bottom of page