top of page
Salle Paroissiale



327 Lafontaine Road West

The Parish Hall

This gathering place was built in 1939. Under the guidance of Father T. Marchildon, parishioners built themselves a hall for social, family and political activities. Between 1950 and 1970, the hall was at the centre of many weddings, concerts, cultural gatherings and parties of all kinds. In the 1950s, farmers would showcase their seed potatoes at the hall. Bazars, café concerts and chicken pot pie suppers were particularly popular. It was in this hall that the play Le loup de Lafontaine was performed in 1955. Whether it was for a meal after a funeral, a meat bingo or to celebrate the New Year, the Parish Hall has left memories in the hearts of everyone in Lafontaine.


Click CC on the video to display English subtitles.

Discover more historical locations in Lafontaine

bottom of page